MISSION

I’m not afraid
Rather, it’s perfect – it’s not time yet
While averting my eyes
What I spent each of my days for has ended

‘Cuz finally I met…the mission whose name is “my dream”
There’s no reason to turn back from it so easily, right?
Once more,
Just face it head on

Fighting for my mission
I won’t lose today, too
I am, I will, just persist
The strong headwind is my ally
With an eye on the future, go straight on,
Just live

Follow me now
Just like me, gracefully
Just live

What had been protected is comfortable
Happiness as promised
I really want to have a bit more, but
I gotta leave

You always tell yourself a lot of lies
The chance to become honest has come,
Keep sight of it
Just jump

Fighting for my mission
I don’t care for detours
I am, I do, want to believe
What remains unfinished doesn’t matter
Burn energy, and honestly,
Just live

RAP:
Hey, I’ll arrive for sure
With boiling, unlimited passion
Beyond our rising strength, let’s try
Why not? Surely it’s our future
This isn’t a show, bid the past bye-bye
And then spread over it a vow
Look up, yeah, one more time
I’ll pierce through my mission

‘Cuz finally I met…the mission whose name is “my dream”
Anxiety surrounds me, but there’s no time to lose
Once more,
Just face it head on

Fighting for my mission
I won’t lose today, too
I am, I will, just persist
The strong headwind is my ally
With an eye on the future, go straight on,
Just live

Fighting for my mission
I don’t care for detours
I am, I do, want to believe
What remains unfinished doesn’t matter
Burn energy, no matter how many times,
Just live

Follow me now
Strongly
Face it head on
This is my mission


  • Translator’s notes: Originally posted 05/26/16! This was the original kanji source. The following are the notes from the original post!
  • The English parts in this were SO HARD for me to mix in with the Japanese, but somehow…I…think this kinda sounds ok? (This may just be the sleepiness talking, telling me to just give up, though…) Especially with the rap. If I were translating this in Tagalog one line there would have been “tapalan mo ng pangako” (the part I translated with “cover it with a vow”) which…brings to mind patching up holes in roofing, but what I mean to say is that it was supposed to be a bit more thoughtful (“maramdamin”??? www) than it ended up being.
  • I HAVE NO IDEA HOW THE VERSE AFTER THE FIRST CHORUS WAS SUPPOSED TO GO GAHHH so I ended up giving up and doing this! Haha. How I see it, it seems to be saying that being ‘protected’ (staying inside the box, so to speak???) is ‘comfortable’, and promises happiness, but even though the singer does want this easy happiness some more, they’ve still got Goals and know they have to leave their comfort zone to fulfill them.
  • The repeating articles for the choruses were really confusing (boku wa, boku wo) but afaik wa is a simple subject/predicate relationship and wo refers to some kind of action between the two? So I alternated between the usual English be-verbs for the former and do-support verbs for the latter.
  • “Honestly” in the second chorus was not supposed to be read as it fell in this TL, like “honestly, just live…”, rather, it’s supposed to suggest that you (the person the singer is singing to???) just be honest to yourself (a call-back to the a line in the verse before it, maybe?: “the chance to become honest has come”)
  • They repeat the choruses for the last verses, and there was one very very small change in the second one (何度でも、生きるだけさ), but it made all the difference, just imo. Go ahead, look at it again.
  • Feel better? Well, I dunno about you, but I did.
Leave a Reply

