Naughty

As twilight comes, the distant, hazy hustle and bustle
Passing through nobody, this cold wind,
Swelling up the image of twilight
A mix of high and low, tears won’t stop

Uplifting disappointment wells up, disappointment and passion
Meaninglessness, I’ve accepted that long ago.

Embarrassingly, laugh, laugh, laugh,
Swallow everything down, embrace everything,
As it breaks, scream, scream, scream,
Use everything, go beyond everything,
I don’t have regrets, that’s just what I believe.

It’s okay to talk about good and evil
Boring stuff like tactics aren’t needed
I only want the best
Use firmness and have fun

If you want to be together, just this would be fine
I want to try, I want to feel, new things

While floating, cry, scream, scream,
Forsake everything, captivate everything,
Just like I expected, it didn’t, was beloved,
Swallow everything down, embrace everything,
That’s just what I vowed, only that

Entangled with this warm hand,
Squeezing a cold chain,
What if this would be cast off someday?
I want to stay this way

Embarrassingly, laugh, laugh, laugh,
Swallow everything down, embrace everything,
As it breaks, scream, scream, scream,
Use everything, go beyond everything,
I don’t have regrets, that’s just what I believe.


  • Translator’s notes: original post dated 07/25/16, kanji source here.
  • First, just gotta get this out of the way: Kimuran wrote the lyrics for this. Considering how he tends to dip into some kind of prose in this one (hence confusing my poor, almost-always-sleep-deprived brain to all hell), all my kudos to him.
  • Also – is it just me and my dry af TL, or, for a song titled “Naughty”, this is…surprisingly thoughtful? Well I did catch some things, but idk if that was intended or just me shoving my head in the gutter again. (Imo the bridge was pretty obvious, though, uh, what are you doing with that chain!?)
  • Considering I like the pacing of this song, I feel so bad for on-and-off translating this without my dictionary…but in my defense my lil bro keeps kidnapping it and pulling the cutiepie eyes on me, which is just totally unfair. Had to wing this, around 70% of the time, save for some of the lines where I had to give up and look kanji up online. ANIKI WHY
  • There was supposed to be some kind of other stuff about phrasing and stuff I was supposed to put here, but it’s now 4:30 am and I should really sleep now. Rest assured I will look these verses through when I…uh, finally get the sleep I’m supposed to have? Ahh…
Leave a Reply

