Animemashite Cross Interview: August 2014

Masuda Toshiki

Yu-Gi-Oh ZEXAL II (Kamishiro Ryouga), Samurai Flamenco (Hazama Masayoshi), Haikyuu!! (Ennoshita Chikara)

  1. What drove you to be a seiyuu (Anime/Character/Seiyuu etc.)
    Guren Lagann
    Because nothing compares to its heatedness.
  2. A movie/book/manga you recommend
    The movie “A Bolt From The Blue
    It was interesting, I was moved to tears. In the movie theater, I cried a lot.
  3. A thing you’re hooked on lately (Hobbies and so forth)
    Bouldering
    There’s a sense of accomplishment in clearing a difficult route, also, it’s bodybuilding.
  4. What you do first when you wake up
    Take a bath
    My hair gets all ruffled so I take a bath every morning.
  5. What you always do before falling asleep
    Set the alarm clock
    Because running late is scary.
  6. A person or seiyuu you respect
    My parents
    Because they’ve been taking care of me up to now. I’m still continuing to owe them a lot of worries…
  7. Something that makes you glad you’re a seiyuu?
    Being popular with girls (usually the 2D ones)
    There was a time when I got confessed to by two people at once.
  8. Anime character you fell in love with?
    Chikubaku Lovers’  Sawa-san, Akagami’s Morishima Haruka, Ayatsuji Tsukasa.
    Everyone’s pretty.
  9. What kind of seiyuu do you want to be in the future?
    I want to become an actor who changes people’s lives.
    When they see my performances, and think stuff like “okay, let’s do our best!”, I want to be the cause of that change in people.
  10. Your hometown’s or otherwise favorite dialect (word) is,
    Hiroshima dialect
    Because Hiroshima is my hometown.

Saito Souma

Future Card Buddyfight (Ryuenji Tasuku), Akame ga Kill! (Tatsumi), Terror in Resonance (Twelve)

  1. What drove you to be a seiyuu (Anime/Character/Seiyuu etc.)
    When I was in high school I saw a lot of anime and movies and the like, I’ve been fascinated by plays.
    The thing is during those days there were a lot of times, when in the middle of seeing lots of works, when I was asked to help out in plays it didn’t feel like I was being overcharged, so I thought I wanted to stand on that side too. Even now that ties in together with my first step; that was the beginning.
  2. A movie/book/manga you recommend
    Nishikawa Miwa-san’s “Sway” (movie), Yamauchi Mariko-san’s “Here Boredom Comes For You” (novel), Maki Hirochi-san’s “Someday We’ll Have Breakfast at Tiffany’s” (manga)
    With the former two, there’s a trapped feeling of irritation characteristic of the suburbs; this misery is like what I experience myself, I like it a lot. With “Someday We’ll Have Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, I want to have breakfast that delicious too.
  3. A thing you’re hooked on lately (Hobbies and so forth)
    Making a pilgrimage to secondhand bookstores.
    The thing is, from the start I like reading and walking, so this is a result of thinking I’ve not been able to enjoy these two pastimes efficiently, so it came to be that during breaks in work I’d make my way to take trips to secondhand bookstores.
  4. What you do first when you wake up
    Go back to sleep.
    Because of course my total bedtime is constant, I like having spare time to say “I’ll still sleep a bit more”, so I’ll set my alarm clock so I’d wake earlier than I’m supposed to.
  5. What you always do before falling asleep
    Confirm tomorrow’s schedule and prepare my things.
    I’m prone to worrying……(lol)
  6. A person or seiyuu you respect
    My parents, my family
    It was like a dream but it wasn’t one when I said “I want to walk the path of voice acting” and they compelled me from behind, saying “It’s your life, so please do what you like. However, please take on all the responsibilities yourself.” Really, I can’t stop being thankful to them. Recently I haven’t been able to readily go back home, I think I want to set aside some time so I could go.
  7. Something that makes you glad you’re a seiyuu?
    Getting to perform as different characters, always getting your hands on fresh works. This still hasn’t changed within myself.
    If I had to say then personally I’m not the assertive type who steps forward so, if it’s a play that’s been continuing my entire life, if I can’t continue through with it myself, I think, I have a hunch it’d be like a weight taken off my chest. This feeling is important, i think I want to concentrate on my everyday life.
  8. Anime character you fell in love with?
    Kawashima Ami (Toradora!)
    Regardless of gender, a character who has their dark sides might possibly be the kind one finds themselves thinking about. The weaknesses males and females hold close make them fragile, so there’s a short-lived charm to that. But of course I also like cheerful characters! (lol)
  9. What kind of seiyuu do you want to be in the future?
    A gentle actor.
    Together with pursuing originality, the sense of balance of having that and getting into productions that are a perfect fit, I want to become an actor with that versatility.
  10. Your hometown’s or otherwise favorite dialect (word) is,
    Yamanashi prefecture (Koushuu-ben)
    Personally, when I’m in my hometown I don’t get to talk in the dialect much, so once in a while when I go back home, I like carefully saying out my thoughts to refresh myself.

  • Original posts dated 10/04/16 (Masuda, 08/11/14) and 10/08/16 (Saito, 08/18/14).
  • Source
  • i was given a copy of the extra video to this episode (but…not the episode itself…) and the tone there is remarkably different from the one here trust me – i wish i can work w/ that one soon too
  • at one point massu talks about shampoo and stuff and souma quips “are you a girl?” to which massu protests “I’M NOT” and also makes rlly interesting demonstrations of using shampoo bottles
  • also massu isn’t a morning person so he sets his alarm clock to be rlly obnoxious cuz he won’t wake up otherwise
  • the mood they share is just really good?? souma says massu feels like a big bro to him, while behind him…massu makes interesting perspective shots that souma wants to peep at too lol
  • BUT OK FINE, for once the sidebar image has nothing to do with the article, I’M SORRY BUT, LOOK AT EM…it’s from AGF 2015 btw!
  • chikubaku lovers” is a short story written by the writer of “nanatsu no taizai”; not much info about it is known overseas, and i didn’t know whether the female MC’s name of爽 would be “sawa” or “ami”, but it seems to usually be sawa, so
  • akagami” is a PS2 game and has nothing to do with the series “snow white with the red hair”, and yeah, not much of it seems to be known overseas either
  • why do these guys love such obscure works idk how i ever managed to scrounge what their english translations would be up
  • number 10 question seems to be referring to either their hometown’s dialect or their personal fave dialect? idk how to phrase tho

 

Leave a Reply

