Oh My Mermaid

Cruising on the sea

Hey, look over there, dolphins are kissing
Over the horizon, we swear eternally; we are tropical

I’ll sweet-talk you: I don’t wanna let go of your hand,
For your sake, I’ll take down a shark with a flying fish

She’s my mermaid, mermaid,
Eternal paradise, all over again,
I’m teary-eyed, what the hell’s the matter with me?
Am I too happy that I’m crying?

Softly, stroking, stroking,
A sign of your like, very nice
It’s just too cute, so I carelessly let slip my voice
Drain the love cocktail and fall in love

On a party onboard, the atmosphere was the best, as stars fell into the ocean
Secretly wishing on a falling star, will you say it? All together now –

The steps of samba, sneaking away during cheek time
When I’ve fallen in love, my heart is always like a teenager’s

Oh my Juliet – the hell?
Touching your lower back, touching our bodies
If I don’t see you in dreams, it gets really lonely
Don’t “poof” out of existence forever like a mermaid

If I missed you under the golden setting sun,
I’ll sink into the sea, and reel you in as long as the sun’s still up

She’s my mermaid, mermaid,
Eternal paradise, all over again,
For three days and three nights I’ve been in a dream, hanging out with you,
I’m too happy that I’m crying

Oh my special, special,
Boy meets princess, happiness,
You’re way too cute, you’ll always be my only one
Drain the love cocktail and fall in love


  • Originally TL’d 10/16/16
  • [Source]
  • i know i said on my twitter that onoyuu TLs are pretty straightforward and i didn’t need notes but WELP HERE I AM WITH NOTES
  • I’ll sweet-talk you,” – the word here is actually nanpa! basically the art (lol) of picking up women with (usually cheesy) pick-up lines. since i’m in actors fandom the best example i can think of is takato kiyosu (toriumi boy) but i know he’s not well-known enough….hmm…OH! I REMEMBER NOW!!!! nozaki-kun’s mikorin! and kashima! their sweet lines are more successful examples of this!
  • For your sake, I’ll take down a shark with a flying fish” – yes your eyes are not playing tricks on you this is exactly what he said
  • what on earth is チークタイム, i chose to TL this literally as “cheek time” but no srsly ffs WHAT IS THIS??? the closest thing i can think of is what us filipinos call beso-beso – like, when your cheek touches another person’s cheek, like cheek kisses without the lips? idk if that’s a samba move too tho
  • he actually did use the onomatopoeia for “poof” kinda like how hinata and kageyama use sound words a lot when describing things this is as cute and dorky as it sounds
  • considering how mermaids rlly are if his beau here is actually a mermaid i wonder if onoyuu’s pov chara is actually still alive at the end
Leave a Reply

