CARMA

The illusion of turning the lights off, the shadows the darkness brings to light are,
Seen only in laughing dreams, the late idol,
Raining down repeatedly are “fragments”, “sins”, “regrets”,
Stabbing through the heart that has had enough

Do you want to forget?” “I won’t forget.” All the lies I have in my hands are
Making sounds as they crumble, they could disappear
Your voice that’s gone distant echoes, its harmony disrupting the breeze
To the void that will never end

Irritation tags along, like shackles suspended between two points rusting together,
Getting entangled as they crumble to dust, it just, seems like it hurts,
The insides of my eyelids feel hot, your face calling my name burned into them
The traces of which still appear before my eyes

Do you want to forget?” “I won’t forget.” All the lies I have in my hands are
Making sounds as they crumble, they could disappear
Your voice that’s gone distant echoes, its harmony disrupting the breeze
To the void that will never end

If we could touch, sway, and intermingle within your lap like we did in the past
Once more, we could regain how our everydays [used to be]
The words I want to convey have overflown…and have been drowned out

Should we go on no matter what?” Such a filler, stopgap lie is
Hindered by cowardice [saying] “That’s enough, carry on.”
Your voice that’s gone closer, echoes, spitting out blurred memories–

Do you want to forget?” “I won’t forget.” All the lies I have in my hands are
Making sounds as they crumble, they could disappear
Your voice that’s gone distant, echoes, its harmony disrupting the breeze
To the void that will never end


  • Originally TL’d 10/20/16
  • [Kanji source]
  • fun fact: souma’s vocalist here is named kumori (stylized qumoli) which usually means “cloud”, but they use the kanji 翳. specifically speaking re: this kanji, it means a lot of stuff (dim sight, shadow, fans held by attendants to hide nobles’ faces, haze, gloom), but basically it’s a rlly “dark”-feeling word…figures (this band’s fave color is all the many different shades of black, which is one thing i relate so much to) the kanji used can ALSO mean ‘cloud’ tho…in the sense of, say, a dark cloud interfering w/ someone’s happiness
  • sooooooo if you say this is saito souma’s emo phase i don’t rlly think i can argue tbh
  • [muffled “emo liar” plays in the distance]
  • whoopdedo wrong franchise
  • “idol” here is the one for “statue” or “figure”, not the “idol” in “idol singer”! i know “the late idol” sounds mehh but it was either that or “the dearly departed statue” (and yes, the late was late as in dead, not late as in…not-early)
  • Like shackles suspended between two points rusting together” – …ok so i have no idea if this is correct, but this is literally how this sentence reads to me – the chains of shackles get all tangly when they rust up, but it leads to decay anyway which may lead to said chain breaking. so – it seems like it’s stuck, but it actually isn’t.
  • If we could touch, sway, and intermingle within your lap…” – this was the point where i had to ask myself if this rlly read this way or if i’ve just been TL’ing too many sin pieces to get my head outta the gutter HA. the sentence reads “if you had a lapful of [how we] touch[ed], [how we] sway[ed], mingle like  we did before” but for some reason my mind at 11pm went ‘a lapful’=’inside your lap’ because how do u measure a lapful if not by employing actual lap so it stuck like this and i’m sorry it just sounds so wrong
  • Should we go on no matter what?” “That’s enough, carry on.” – basically: “should i stop?” “no don’t stop, keep doing that.” imagine at will
  • a story: idk if it’s from the fact that i started translating for a drama cd series, but i have this thing where i can tell out someone’s voice no matter how high or low they pitch it. this song wasn’t rec’cd to me as a souma song – it was rec’cd to me as a rock song, because i like those (as long as it keeps me awake, it stays) – but i recognized him from the outset, remembered where i first saw the title of this franchise, and whipped out my copy of dengeki girl’s actors only to realize that they have a picture of him there and saito souma had been hiding in plain sight this entire time
  • context note: i’ve been translating with a decidedly souma-focus mindset fairly recently. i have owned this copy of dengeki girl’s actors since april 2015…
  • update note 10/8/16: this picture showed up on my TL. i started laughing to myself, but then i had to physically stand up and actually pace around my room because apparently souma in eyeliner gives me freakin’ palpitations
  • apologies for unleashing this threat upon mankind BUT I DECIDED THAT IF IT HAS TO BE THIS WAY, THEN I WOULD JUST HAVE TO GET USED TO THAT FACE INSTEAD. BY STARING AT IT.
  • is there anything else of note aside from my frankly very embarrassing moment of weakness
  • hm
  • i…really liked the rolled “r”s??? i’m filipino and oddly enough i tend to do a lot of those myself, esp when i’m singing along to something (which ends up in other ppl thinking i come from a spanish-speaking country lol)
Leave a Reply

