萌芽

Okay so 萌芽 is a noun that can be a verb, and there are a lot of ways to take it. The more scientific “germination”. “Sprout”. “Bud”. Basically: something emerging and beginning to grow. And not in the mind-in-the-gutter way, please. (I know Souma gets himself into a bunch of those, but not this time, I swear…)

I hold my hands up against the overpouring sunlight…

I hold my hands up against the overpouring sunlight
That frames my fingers with a pale brilliance
At the very least, I want you to illuminate me from a distance

The world is changing colors, just like a song
Your pleasantly resounding voice,
I always want to wrap myself in it
The wish that has ended enmeshes against my lips

I reach out to the overpouring sunlight with my hands
Vivid glimmers overflow from my fingers
As you wish, I’ll always just be by your side

The world is being garnished by colors, just like white snow
Whose purity is cherubic
I always want to look at it
The wish that has ended has become a scar

As you play [your instrument], your fingertips quiver
Leaving a gentle sigh in my ears
Suddenly inside my chest, emotion wells up…

The world is changing colors…

The world is changing colors, just like a song
Your pleasantly resounding voice,
No matter what, I want to nestle close to it,
I’ll painfully invoke this vow I’ll keep to myself.

Princess, I will protect you.”


  • Original TL dated 11/02/16!
  • kanji source
  • PLEASE TELL ME THERE IS BODYGUARD ROUTE IN THIS GAME SOMEWHERE OR I WILL THROW THINGS
  • a notable switcheroo: in “Just like a song”, the exact word written in place of 歌 is 雅楽 or Japanese court music!
Leave a Reply

