I Can’t Say Goodbye

I can’t say…goodbye…

Since the lies you practiced have all run out,
Right now, they’re unconvincing – why, what’s the matter?

I understand everything about you without knowing why,
It’s just by trial and error, though.

That night you cried, the smell of it had clung to your clothes…

Feeling living, feeling skin, despite all that,
Have I let go of my futile pride?

If I walk along this quiet street to kick at it,
I might die.

Why can’t I move on from things like regret?
No matter which way you think about it, this gap [between us] can’t be helped.

Goodbye” is the only thing I can’t say, my cheeks are getting damp
Just like the sullied shirt I wash every day.

I can’t continue keeping up the pretense that all I need is “one more time,”
Unfading scars cannot exist on their own.

That empty distance is far off, so right now,
If we keep on not meeting halfway, time will pass us by.

You understand everything about me without knowing why,
Let’s pretend it’s a mutual understanding.

Hey, just remembering isn’t living,
No matter which way you think about it,  this gap [between us] can’t be denied.

Goodbye” is the only thing I can’t say, my cheeks are getting damp
Just like the sullied shirt I wash every day.

I can’t continue keeping up the pretense that all I need is “one more time,”
Unfading scars cannot exist on their own.

I can say that I love you, honestly,
[So that] this love won’t vanish into this dense darkness.

Goodbye” is the only thing I can’t say, my cheeks are getting damp
Just like the sullied shirt I wash every day.

I can’t continue keeping up the pretense that all I need is “one more time,”
Unfading scars cannot exist on their own.

Once more, I want to see you…


  • I ADMIT IT I TWISTED ABOUT A BUNCH OF STUFF IN THIS TO MAKE IT ROLL EASIER, so this is not 100% accurate (as always!) but it’s pretty much the gist of it, yes! still by-ear, this one.
  • “the lies…have all run out” = this is actually smthn like “you’re parched out of lies”, so i went with the less poetic route
  • OKAY, ONE OF MY FAVORITE WORDPLAY THINGS. “suki” is usually known as the japanese for “like”, but when you spell it out in kana – like this one did, when i saw a snippet of the transcript – it can mean lots of words, one of which being a “gap”. (i picked this up from nozaki-kun lmao) so this could either be “this [our] love can’t be helped” or “this gap [between us] can’t be helped”
  • “i can say that i love you” daw o…someone hold me…why is judah once again making me Feel Feelings…
Leave a Reply

