NEW COLOR COLLECTION No.03: Nogami Sho, “After Interview”

This is a 2022 addendum to the original 2018 two-parter NEW COLOR VOICE interview (which you can also read here: NEW COLOR VOICE 03: Nogami Sho (1/2) and NEW COLOR VOICE 03: Nogami Sho (2/2)), included with the NEW COLOR COLLECTION ebook digitally released late December 2022. You can support the original ebook by purchasing it through Bookwalker!


How do you really feel about your interview’s ebook release?

My first thought was “hey, that’s a blast from the past!”, quickly followed up by “wait, does anyone even want mine though?” (lol)

When you look back on the time we had this interview, is there anything memorable about back then?

I remember feeling super nervous ‘cuz this is the first time I got interviewed as mostly “Nogami Sho (the guy)”, not as “Nogami Sho, voice actor of so-and-so”. My daily life isn’t interesting at all, so I also wondered if there’s anything we can even talk about… I was so anxious but when the staff and I got to talking, we went down a rabbit hole and before we knew it the interview was already over. If you compare me now with the me from that interview, I’d say the easiest differences you could point out are that my taste in clothes has changed, and also I’m just older now (lol). I believe the way I think about and perceive the things around me has gradually changed since then – I sure hope so, since I feel that it should have changed by now. Also, now I think I care less(1) about how people think about me. I had a lot more impostor syndrome(2) then than I do now (lol) Maybe the only thing that hasn’t changed since then is that I still want to be a voice actor who can function as a single part of a franchise(3). I just want to continue to keep feeling that way.

Please give a message for all the fans of KIKI.

To everyone who’ve read this far, I’m really so grateful. I’m just too old to talk about fresh ideals, my heart’s too jaded for that (lol). But I’m not experienced or skilled enough to talk about what to look forward in the future, either. So I think I’ll just keep on moving forward at my own pace. It would make me happy if the franchises and contents I’m in can continue to help you enjoy your daily life.


Translation Notes:

(1) it took me so much restraint to not translate this as “I give less of a shit now” or “I give no fucks anymore” but just know that’s the tone here
(2) the kanji is translated as either imposter syndrome or inferiority complex, which are pretty much the same thing – from his usual word choices it would be more likely he would use the former.
(3) callback to the original 2018 interviews – i use this translation because this is how i translated his words then, but the original is supposed to be 作品の歯車のひとつ, literally “a single cog within a franchise”

hi. it’s trish, the person behind this account – it feels like it’s been a while since i did let myself do a note like this but since this is a 2022 look back on a 2018 interview i translated then i guess i’ll give a look back on myself here too. my life had changed a lot since 2018, too – new job, more colors in my wardrobe, and now i’m closer to 30 than i am to 25. i still like to talk about the stuff i like and i’ve been learning that i’ll only be as embarrassed as i let myself feel. anyway, hope 2023 is kind to all of us. hope i get to get back here more often!

Leave a Comment